Debye Prize

The Peter Debye Prize for Young Investigators for Excellence in Dielectric Research is established to encourage and support young scientists to continue research in Dielectric Spectroscopy and its applications


Previous Debye Prize winners 

2018           Karolina Adrjanowicz & Shiwang Cheng

2016           Ivan Popov & Subarna Samanta

2014           Zaneta Wojnarowska

2012           Simone Napolitano

2010           Catalin Gainaru

2008           Periklis Papadopoulos & Daniele Prevosto

2006           Anatoli Serghei


The Award

The award is a certificate of achievement accompanied by a cash prize of 1000 euros, finances permitting.

The Prize

The prize is given only for scientific work which is already published or in press (as proven by a letter of acceptance).


To be eligible for this prize, the nominee should:

                     a) be under the age of 36 years

                     b) be inscribed on the conference

                     c) attend the meeting in San Sebastian

(exemptions to these rules are allowed, in exceptional cases).

Candidate nomination

Candidates can be nominated by any IDS member or be self-nominated. The nomination, together with the candidate’s Curriculum Vitae, a listing of the candidate’s publications, and one copy of each of the papers under consideration for the Debye Prize, should be sent by email in PDF format to the IDS secretary, Dr. Catalin Gainaru, at the email address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

In the case of publications under joint or multiple authorship, the candidate should include a brief statement of the input made by the candidate in each of those publications.

Deadlines for candidate nomination: 29th April 2022

The nomination documents should be submitted by email (TBA) in .pdf format. 

Award Committee

The Award Committee consists of 3 committee members: the Award Committee chairperson and two IDS members. The Award Committee chairperson is responsible for notifying the IDS board of the prize winner in advance of announcing the successful candidate. Members of the Award Committee must be free of any direct relationship (personal, member of the same research team, etc.) to any nominees. The chairman of IDS must make sure that this rule is strictly fulfilled.

Evaluation process

The Award Committee is responsible for evaluating the nominated scientific work and verifying the eligibility of the candidates. As part of the evaluation process, the Award Committee is encouraged to involve scientists from outside society to judge the quality of the nominated research. The final decision, however, will be made by the Award Committee.

Award announcement

The Award Committee is responsible for formulating a presentation statement about the scientific work and the scientist chosen as the winner of the Debye Prize. The Debye Prize is awarded to the prize-winner on the occasion of the biannual meeting of IDS.


The award is financed by IDS surpluses or other available sources. If the foreseeable available resources are considered insufficient, the prize will not be awarded for the period of time in question.